Three local drivers claim feature wins at Shady Bowl Speedway

It was a big night for local drivers Saturday at Shady Bowl Speedway as three area speedsters claimed feature wins. 

press eaton


West Liberty’s Gary Eaton Jr. won the 30-lap Vores Compact Tour Shady Bowl Classic, while Quincy drivers Josh Smith and Jason Purtee also won. Smith took first in the 72-lap late model feature and Purtee was first in the hobby stock feature.

It was a family feud as Gary Eaton Jr. battled past his cousin Terry Eaton Jr. to claim the victory in the Shady Bowl Classic 23-car field. He won a $2,150 prize, which was the largest payoff in the history of the series. 

press smith


Terry Eaton Jr. settled for second, Bo Hoelscher was third, Justin Brown came in fourth and Trent Gossar took fifth. Gary Eaton Jr. was the fast qualifier and Yogi Metz was the winner of the B main.

Smith dominated the 72-lap late model feature to take home the $1,720 prize. Jim Lewis Jr. battled to give his best performance of the season and finish second, Mike Ward was third, heat winner Brian Reese was fourth and Scott Sullenberger finished fifth in his first start. Smith was the fast qualifier, Don Mahaffey Jr. was the dash winner, while Jerry Stapleton was the heat winner in his 2018 debut.



The hobby stocks saw Purtee take the checkered flag and the fast qualifier spot. Finishing second through fifth were Chris Prater, Justin Feight, Steve Fowler and Les Rhodes.

In spectator drags, Joe Hines took the top spot with Chad Glidden coming in second.

Racing returns to Shady Bowl Speedway on Saturday and will feature the Rick Hensel Memorial, a 50-lap modified main. The race will pay $1,500 to the winner. Also in action will be the mini stocks, street stocks and hobby stocks. Racing is scheduled to start at 7 p.m.