Graham wins 18th straight championship

COLUMBUS — An anticlimactic finish didn’t take away the luster of what Graham has been able to accomplish over the past two decades here at the OHSAA state championships.

The Falcons gave another incredible performance this weekend as they claimed their 18th consecutive state title and 20th overall inside the Jerome Schottenstein Center.

Graham surpassed the 200-point mark on Saturday morning and finished with 231 to claim the Division II title. The Falcons hold the scoring record with 282 points set in 2009. The Falcons placed 12 of their 13 state qualifiers. They had eight finalists and four champions.

They also had two defending champions not repeat.

Graham’s biggest moment on Saturday came when senior Mitch Moore (145) became Ohio’s 30th four-time state champion. He held on to beat Carrollton’s Ben Pasiuk 3-2 in the finals. Moore finishes with a career record of 175-9 and will join his older brother Brent at Virginia Tech next season.

Graham WR

Graham’s Mitch Moore has his hand raised after becoming Ohio’s 30th four-time state champion Saturday at the OHSAA state wrestling championships in Columbus. (EXAMINER PHOTO | AARON LaBATT)

Most impressive is that of Ohio’s 31 four-time state champions, seven of them have come from Graham High School. The Falcons also now have 94 individual state champions in wrestling.

Graham also saw senior Rocky Jordan (170) win his third state title. He is a four-time finalist, losing his freshman year, and is the son of head coach Jeff Jordan. Rocky is committed to Ohio State where his older brothers Bo and Micah currently wrestle.