Quincy’s Smith takes Korn Memorial title at Shady Bowl

Josh Smith of Quincy captured another racing victory to highlight racing action Saturday at Shady Bowl Speedway.


ABOVE: Jim Lewis Jr. won the Pro-4 feature. BELOW: Josh Smith is shown after winning the Bob Korn Memorial. (ISAACS PHOTOS)


Smith has been on a roll at Shady Bowl in recent weeks and added to his racing resume by claiming the Bob Korn Memorial on Saturday. The 72-lap late model feature was a makeup from an earlier rainout. 

Jacob Muncy took the lead on the start until Smith took over the lead spot on lap 32. Muncy ran a tough race, but was forced to settle for second. Mark Parker was third, Ross Klingelhofer took fourth and Tyler Mahaffey came in fifth. Smith was also the fast qualifier, Parker was the winner of the dash with the heat win going to Jim Lewis Jr.

The street stocks also ran a 72-lap feature and saw Ray Muncy work his way to the lead spot after 30 laps. He held on for the win. Muncy not only won the feature, he also set a new track record and picked up the hard charger award. Josh Poore, Josh Sage, Jamie Sites and Bo Hoelscher rounded out the top five. Andy Heath, Tim Hines and Jamie Sites took heat wins. Dave Sage won the dash.

Jim Lewis Jr. claimed the top spot in the Pro-4 main. Justin Meed came in second, Matt Thompson took third, Josh Plummer was fourth and Paul Hazelett came in fifth.

For the compacts, Amber Holley won the pro class and Jessica Keaton won the rookie class.

Racing returns to Shady Bowl on Saturday as the local track plays host to the Vores Series. The late models, street stocks and compacts will also be in action. Racing begins at 7 p.m.

The Bellefontaine Examiner - All Rights Reserved