Schools honored with Momentum Awards

Momentum award

Three schools in Logan County have achieved the Momentum Award from the Ohio Department of Education and two of their respective boards of education touted the news in meetings Monday night.

Benjamin Logan Middle School, Indian Lake Elementary School and Bellefontaine Middle School each was honored with the Momentum Award, which is based on the school’s straight A score on the “Valued Added” section of the annual report card.

It was the second consecutive award for Bellefontaine.

“Benjamin Logan Middle School’s teachers, support staff, parents and students have proven that hard work is paying off,” principal Rob Walter said. “Many factors played a part in the middle school receiving this award.A combination of the teachers at Benjamin Logan Middle School spending countless hours working to grow each and every student, students working hard every single day, and parent support in all areas of the school experience led to the high level of education growth for students.

Benjamin Logan Middle School is excited about receiving the Momentum Award and can’t wait to see the continued success in the future.”

ILES Co-Principal Molly Hall says they feel honored to receive this award. 

“We feel that this award is a direct reflection of the commitment to quality instruction and our passion for children. Our staff has worked very hard over the last several years to improve our response to intervention program, apply formative instructional practices and assist our students in becoming assessment capable learners. We are extremely proud of our entire staff and our students."

“When we received the award last year,” city middle school Principal Lynda Holycross said, “it validated all the hard work of the staff, students and community. To receive it a second time in a row is the icing on the cake.”

She noted the school had to improve on its 2016 award performance to earn this year’s award.

In addition to the straight A score on the Value Added section of the annual report card, the school or district must have at least two Value-Added subgroups of students, which include gifted, lowest 20 percent in achievement and students with disabilities.

Only 217 of Ohio’s more than 3,300 school buildings received the award.