Three local drivers grab feature wins at Shady Bowl

It was a big night for three local drivers Saturday at Shady Bowl Speedway as West Liberty’s Gary Eaton and Daniel Wirick and Quincy’s Josh Smith all captured feature wins.





Eaton battled past Ron Masters early in the tuner class race and rumbled his way to victory. Masters was forced back to second place, point leader Terry Eaton was third, Austin Eaton grabbed fourth and Chris Lucas was fifth. Eaton made a clean sweep as he also set fast time and won the dash.

The late models were dominated by Smith, who grabbed the lead early in the race and was never challenged. John Stroble was second, Jacob Muncy came in third, Austin Troyer was fourth and Greg Jackson finished fifth. Smith was the fast qualifier, with Stroble taking the heat win.

The dwarf cars rounded out the night of racing action where Wirick captured his win. Brandon Bayse was second, Ryan Miller was third, Greg Sparks finished fourth and Jason Hitchcock rounded out the top five.

Greg Stapleton took the front spot in the modified race early on and went on to secure the win. Points leader and dash winner Shane Shirk was second, with Mike Carroll third, fast qualifier Brad Williams fourth and Joe Pequignot fifth.

The street stock main was highlighted by Josh Sage, who took the win after slipping past Buck Purtee. Dave Sage came in third, Rodney Roush was fourth and Scott Sullenberger took fifth. Josh Sage won the dash and Chad Brandyberry set fast time.

In compact racing, Dave Callahan took the win for his first feature victory. Nicholas Meed, Kenny George, Chris Lucas and Dean Adams rounded out the top five spots. George was the dash winner, with Ryan Barrett setting fast time.  

Racing returns to Shady Bowl on Saturday highlighted by the “Lee Raymond Memorial” with a 40-lap feature for the modifieds. Raymond was a driver from Dayton who won two ARCA National Championships. The late models, street stocks, tuners and compacts will also be racing. The first race will start at 7 p.m.