Smith, Wirick, Terry Eaton Jr. claim wins at Shady Bowl

Three local drivers highlighted the excitement Saturday at Shady Bowl Speedway as Quincy’s Josh Smith and West Liberty’s Daniel Wirick and Terry Eaton Jr. all came away with feature wins.

After a large crash in the late model feature, Smith moved his way to the front of the pack and never looked back. John Stroble was second, with Mark Parker in third, Jacob Muncy was fourth and Bill Burba, fifth. Smith posted the fast time with Parker taking the dash win. Ross Klingelhofer and Brandon Bayse took heat wins.

Daniel Wirick took over the top spot in the dwarf car feature and held on to secure the win. Brandon Bayse was second, Greg Sparks came in third, Jason Hitckcock was fourth and Lynn Mitchell was fifth. Bayse took the heat win. ....

Racing returns Saturday with the running of the annual Denny Shatto Memorial. The late model main will be 110 laps with $2,000 to the winner. The modifieds, street stocks and compacts will also battle. Racing starts at 7 p.m.


For the full story and race results, pick up a copy of Monday's Bellefontaine Examiner
 to subscribe.