Hunt, Williams get first career wins at Waynesfield

WaynesfieldRaceway logo

Fireworks from the Indian Lake Fourth of July celebration lit up the sky Saturday night to add to the atmosphere of the racing at Waynesfield Raceway Park.  

The tough trucks were first on the program and saw an exciting finish. Chris Hicks moved into first place with less than five laps left and went on to seal the victory. Bill Keeler held on for second, edging out Mike Sawmiller. Roy Miller finished in fourth and Terry Klopfenstein took fifth. Ben Hower was named the hard charger award winner.

The 20-lap modified A-main was highlighted by Scottie Williams working his way in and out of the top spot before claiming the win. Scott Gerdeman nabbed the second-place spot, Tony Anderson came in third, Zach Schroeder placed fourth and Bill Keeler was fifth. Kyle Peterson took home the hard charger award.

Dallas Hunt took command early of the mini-sprint 20-lap feature and never looked back on his way to claiming the win. Rod Henning attempted to move in front after a restart, but would eventually settle for the runner-up spot. Gary Campbell came in third, Michael Helterbran was fourth and Gunnar Lucas took fifth. Anthony Haas finished just outside the top 10, but earned the hard charger award.

Kyle Simon made a late rally in the non-wing sprints 25-lap feature and came away with the victory. Dallas Hewitt, who led a majority of the laps, finished in second. Mike Dunlap came in third, Jimmy Snead took fourth and Todd Keen was fifth. Kent Wolters picked up 12 spots to earn the hard charger award.

The 15-lap compact feature saw current points leader David Yoder extend his race lead with a first-place victory. Harvey Yoder settled for second place, Justin Durflinger came in third and Jordan Iiams held on for fourth. Robbie Tuttle finished in fifth and also took home the hard charger award.