Lewis claims Sceva Memorial title at Shady Bowl Speedway

Jim Lewis Jr. was victorious in one of the biggest events of the season for Shady Bowl Speedway on Saturday.


Jim Lewis Jr. of Fairborn won the Sceva Memorial for late models Saturday at Shady Bowl Speedway.

Lewis won the 51-lap Neal Sceva Memorial for late models, earning $1,051 for the victory.

The late Sceva, an Urbana native, won numerous track titles during his Shady Bowl career. He had more than 600 feature wins. Shady Bowl each year runs a 51-lap feature in memory of Sceva, who drove with the number 51 on his car.

This year, the street stocks were the class chosen to run the 51-lap main.

Jason Drummond led the field to the green. Lewis passed Ray Muncy on lap 27 and led the rest of the way to claim the win. In addition to the first-place prize of $1,051, Lewis received a $200 bonus for winning after starting last in the field.

Muncy, Chris Abbott, Rodney Roush and Josh Sage rounded out the top five. Steve Snapp was the fast qualifier and picked up an additional $100. Aliza Snapp and Sage were heat winners.

In compacts, it was Kenny George back in victory lane. George was followed by Nicholas Meade, David Callahan Justin Durflinger and Andrew George. Callahan was the dash winner, with Aaron Chatfield taking the heat win.

Terry Eaton was the winner of the tuner feature. Chris Crozier, Justin Birt, Zack Thornhill and Lesley Rhodes rounded out the top five.

The late model feature was marred by crashes. Russ Bobb led the first six laps before Mike Ward moved out front. Mark Parker took over the lead on lap 12. The race was then red flagged for a crash involving several cars. Fast qualifier Nathan Herron, Jacob Muncy, Austin Troyer and Mike Ward were involved.

Josh Smith led until lap 34 when it appeared he lost power in his car. Mark Parker of West Liberty took advantage of Smith’s bad luck to surge ahead and get the victory. Brandon Basye was second, with Bobb third, Chris Abbott fourth and Smith fifth. Smith and Jeep Pflum were heat race winners.

The modified feature saw Joe Pequignot take the top spot. Brad Williams was second, Shane Shirk was third, Rob Yelton was fourth and Brad Yelton was fifth. The heat wins went to Logan McPherson and Carl Stapleton.

Racing returns to Shady Bowl on Saturday, with the Vore Compact Touring Series making a local stop. The late models, modifieds, street stocks and Pro-4’s will be in action. Racing begins at 7 p.m.