Triad’s Watkins named all-OHC player of year

Hannah Watkins played a key role in Triad winning a co-Ohio Heritage Conference softball title this spring. She was rewarded for her efforts by being named the league’s player of the year.









A junior, Watkins was one of three Triad players named to the first team. She was joined by freshman Abby Ehrenborg and senior Maddi Ehrenborg.

West Liberty-Salem senior Rachel Loffing also landed a spot on the all-OHC first team.

Triad’s Jenna Welty was a second-team selection, while third-team awards went to the Cardinals’ Jenna Ober and the Tigers’ Kylie Gilroy and Kylee Kite.

Rounding out the first team were Northeastern’s Kaitlyn Moore, Casey Moore and Spencer Byerly, Southeastern’s Becca Carpenter and Mechanicsburg’s Paige Loveless.

Joining Triad’s Welty on the second team were Northeastern’s Leigha Waugh and Cayla Long, Southeastern’s Katie Mitchell and Savannah Sullivan, Mechanicsburg’s Jamie Dodane, Elysha Stapleton and Samantha Schipfer and Greeneview’s McKenna Edwards.

The rest of the honorable mention list consisted of Northeastern’s Sarah Moeller and Allison Castle, Southeastern’s Maddy McKee, Catholic Central’s Monica Lough and Cedarville’s Josie Danik.

Tried and Northeastern each went 12-2 in league play to tie for the conference title. Southeastern was third at 10-4 and WL-Salem tied Mechanicsburg for fourth at 8-6.