Burba highlights Shady Bowl with Dean Memorial victory

Bill Burba won the 94-lap Robbie Dean Memorial Late Model Classic to highlight racing at Shady Bowl Speedway.


Bill Burba won the 94 lap Robbie DeanMemorial late Model Classic. (SHADY BOWL PHOTO)

The Dean Memorial honors the late Robbie Dean, a former track champion who lost his battle with cancer in 2008.

A full field of 24 of the best late model drivers in Ohio competed in the event. Greg Stapleton, who was the series winner last year, set the fast time with a 13.599. The dash was won by Don Mahaffey, with Josh Smith and Jim Lewis Jr. getting heat wins.

Former track champion Bobby Justus took the lead at the drop of the green flag. Justus led until lap 25 when he and Don Mahaffey got together. Justus slowed down after the contact, which brought out the caution flag.

Burba took over the lead on the restart. He looked to have the race in hand until Greg Stapleton mounted a late charge. Stapleton attempted a pass on the final lap, but Burba was able to hang on by about six inches for the win. Mahaffey took third, Donnie Hill was fourth and Brandon Oakley finished fifth.


For the full story and racing results, pick up a copy of Monday's Bellefontaine Examiner
to subscribe.