Basye takes Shady Bowl

Shady Bowl Speedway featured several tight races for racing fans Saturday. Brandon Basye dominated the field in the dwarf feature and set a new track record in the process to highlight the action.


ABOVE: Brandon Basye set a new track record and won the feature for the Dwarf cars. BELOW: Nathan of North Lewisburg won the late model main. (PHOTOS | SHADYBOWL)


Basye recorded a new track mark of 13.619 to win the 20-lap feature. Chasing Basye across the finish line were Daniel Wirick, Greg Sparks, Jason Hitchcock and Lynn Mitchell. Basye and Brian Marsh were heat winners.

The late model main saw Nathan Herron battle back after a spinout to cross the finish line first. Fast qualifier Greg Stapleton came up short and took second, with Mark Parker taking third, Josh Smith coming in fourth and Chris Abbott finishing fifth. Austin Troyer was the dash winner, while Herron took the heat checker.

In the modifieds, Greg Stapleton took the lead on lap two and set sail for the checkered flag. Mike Carroll had to settle for second, while Shane Shirk, Buddy Townsend and Rob Yelton rounded out the top five. Rob Yelton won the dash, with Buck Purtee taking the heat win. Brad Williams set quick time with a 13.865 lap.

The tuner feature came down between cousins Terry Eaton and Gary Eaton, with Terry edging out Gary by less than a foot to win the 20-lap event. Holli Eaton was third, Chris Crozier was fourth and Damin Killen fifth. Terry Eaton also took the dash win.

Kenny George continued his winning ways in the compact main as he won the feature after setting the fast time. Nicolas Meade took the runner-up spot, with David Callahan, Zack Doolin and Nick Philbeck rounding out the top five. Justin Durflinger was the dash winner, with Doolin and Meade taking heat race victories.

Racing returns to Shady Bowl Speedway on Saturday. The feature event will be the Bill Lewis Memorial for the modifieds. The 40-lap event will pay $1,200 to the winner. The late models, street stocks, tuners and compacts will also be in action. Racing begins at 7 p.m.