Lewis sweeps Shady Bowl season opener

Shady Bowl Speedway kicked off the 2014 season with a large crowd on hand and some of Ohio’s finest drivers ready to race.


ABOVE: Buck Purtee won the modieds main. FRONT PAGE PHOTO: Justin Durflinger was the compact winner.

Fairborn’s Jim Lewis Jr. had a big night as he swept both the late model and street stock features.

Lewis dominated the late model race, with Josh Smith, Brad Coons, Jacob Muncey and Gregg Jackson rounding out the top five.

In street stock action, Lewis claimed his second feature win of the night, while Dave Sage, Rodney Roush, Ray Muncy and Jeff Albright finished second through fifth.

Buck Purtee carried the checkered flag for the modified feature. Purtee was chased across the finish line by Brad Yelton, Mike Carroll, Joe Pequignot and Chad Poole.

The compacts feature saw Bellefontaine driver Justin Durflinger take the first-place spot. Durflinger also captured the heat win.

David Callahan was second in the feature, with Nicholas Meade in third, Zack Doolin in fourth and Rob Sharp in fifth.

Shady Bowl returns to action Saturday when the CRA Street Stocks take to the oval for a 200-lap feature. The compacts, Pro-4s and tuners are also on the card. Racing starts at 7 p.m.