Bellefontaine Examiner

Switch to desktop

Local racers have big night at Shady Bowl Speedway

North Lewisburg’s Nathan Herron, West Liberty’s Holli Eaton and Quincy’s Brad Yelton recorded feature wins to highlight Saturday’s race schedule at Shady Bowl Speedway.


ABOVE: Nathan Herron of North Lewisburg is greeted in victory lane by Taylor Payne. Payne is a big fan of Herron and it was her birthday. BELOW: Brad Yelton of Quincy won the modified feature of the season Memorial Championships at Shady Bowl. FRONT PAGE PHOTO: Holli Eaton of West Liberty posted her first ever career win by taking the tuner main. (PHOTOS | SHADYBOWL)


In the 40-lap late model feature, Mike Ward led the first 10 laps. However, Herron then moved in front and dominated from there to take the checkered flag. Matthew Parsons, Bill Burba, Ward and Russ Bobb rounded out the top five.

Parsons was the dash winner for the late models, with Jim Lewis Jr. taking the heat. Josh Smith set quick time with a 13.681 lap.

Rob Yelton led the first 10 laps of the 40-lap modified feature, but his younger brother, Brad, took over the lead and led the rest of the way to post his first victory of 2013. Bill Burba, who had earlier set the fast time, was second. Brad Williams, Buck Purtee and Terry Purtee rounded out the top five. Brad Yelton picked up the dash win, with Ethan Pope winning the heat race.

In the tuner feature, Holli Eaton held off the challenges of her husband Gary to take the top spot. Chad Small II was third, Ron Masters was fourth and Justin Pope took fifth. Gary Eaton set the fast time and also won the dash. Holli Eaton was the heat winner.

The 30-lap street stock feature ended in a dramatic finish. James Harding took the lead from Scott Sullenberger on the 10th lap and Harding built a big advantage before his tire started to go flat with two laps to go. That allowed the rest of the field to catch up. Sullenberger got into Harding near the finish line and sent Harding spinning across the line. Harding crossed first despite doing it sideways. Sullenberger was second, Rodney Roush took third, Josh Sage was fourth and Mike Shaffer finished fifth.

Rodney Roush was the dash winner for the street stocks, Jason Burnside won the heat race and Sage was the fastest qualifier.

Steve Clarkson won the top prize for the Pro-4s. He was followed in the top five by David Gerstner, Rodney Schrack, Justin Meed and Wayne Watkins.

The Quick Parts 20 for the compacts was a highly competitive battle. Jay Lakins led the first five laps before defending track champ Matt Jackson moved out front. Jackson looked prime to get the win, but Kenny George Jr. passed Jackson on the final lap for the victory. After George and Jackson were Lakins in third, Chris Prater in fourth and Nicholas Meed in fifth. Chris Prater had the fast time during time trials.

Racing returns to Shady Bowl on Saturday as the local track will host the annual Neal Sceva Memorial. This year’s event will feature the street stocks running a 51-lap feature paying $551 to the winner. The late models, tuners, modifieds, dwarf cars and compacts will also do battle. Racing begins at 7 p.m.

Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google BookmarksSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn