Bellefontaine Examiner

Switch to desktop

Stapleton sweeps opening night of racing at Shady Bowl

The weather finally cooperated with Shady Bowl Speedway on Saturday as the local track opened its 2013 season after three consecutive postponements.













Greg Stapleton dominated opening night as he swept the late model and modified features as well as setting the fast time in each class.

In the modified feature, Bill Burba grabbed the lead at the beginning of the 30-lap event. Stapleton passed Burba on lap 25 and led the final five laps to get the win.

Burba was second, Chad Poole was third, Buck Purtee finished fourth and Rob Yelton was fifth. Brad Williams was the winner of the dash, with Burba winning the heat race.

The 30-lap late model feature saw Sam Heckman take the lead at the start of the race. He led the first 16 laps.

On lap 17, Stapleton made his move. He got around Heckman on the high side of the track. Stapleton did not give up his spot as he held on the rest of the way for the win.

Nathan Herron made his way from the rear of the field to finish second. Heckman finished third and Brandon Bayse and Mathew Parsons rounded out the top five. Josh Smith won the dash, with rookie driver Landon Sciacca taking the heat.

In the street stock feature, defending track champion Rodney Roush led every lap to get to victory lane.

Joe Hensel, Andy Heath, Dillon Snapp and Richard Roush rounded out the top five. Rodney Roush won the dash, with Ricky Young taking the heat title.

The Pro-4s were back at Shady Bowl on Saturday. Wayne Watkins led the first lap before giving way to Dave Gerstner.

Gerstner then waged a late battle with Dave Sage. The two raced nearly side-by-side for the final five laps before Sage surged in front at the finish.

Chevy Goodson was third, Rodney Schrack was fourth and Matt Thompson finished fifth. Watkins won the dash, with Steve Clarkson taking the heat race.

In the tuner race, rookie driver Dylan Troyer took the early lead. He led the first 10 laps before giving way to defending track champion Gary Eaton. Eaton led the field the final 10 laps to pick up the win. Terry Eaton was second, with Holli Eaton third, Troyer fourth and Chad Small fifth.

Chad Small II was the dash winner, with Ron Masters claiming the heat win.

In compact racing, Chris Prater won the feature, with Nicholas Meed, Austin Eaton and Colt Scherer rounding out the top four.

Racing will return Saturday. The highlight of the evening will be the second annual Bill Lewis Memorial for the modifieds. The late models, street stocks, tuners, compacts and dwarf cars will also be in action. Racing starts at 7 p.m.



Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google BookmarksSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn