Services increase for Ohio sexual assault victims

COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) — Ohio Attorney General Mike DeWine says 13 additional counties have access to comprehensive services for victims of sexual assault.

DeWine says 49 counties now provide all core sexual assault services, and 38 counties offer some. He says one county — Clinton, in southern Ohio — provides little or no core services.

Services include the availability of a 24-hour crisis hotline and advocates who could respond to victims at a hospital.

DeWine formed the sexual services program last year after a survey found that 52 of Ohio's 88 counties do not offer such services. DeWine says it's crucial that adequate services are available to all sexual assault victims.

Athens, Belmont, Carroll, Champaign, Crawford, Fulton, Harrison, Holmes, Meigs, Monroe, Noble, Perry and Wyandot counties expanded their services in the past year.