Ohio Democrats select new Senate leadership team

COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) — Democrats in the Ohio Senate have picked new leaders after two members stepped from their caucus roles to pursue statewide offices next year.

State Sen. Joe Schiavoni (SHA'-voh-nee) of Boardman will become the next minority leader in the Senate following a vote by his fellow Democrats Wednesday afternoon. He will replace Sen. Eric Kearney (KUHR'-nee) of Cincinnati who is running for lieutenant governor.

Sen. Edna Brown of Toledo is moving up to minority whip, a job held by Sen. Nina Turner of Cleveland. Turner is vying for secretary of state.

Joining the leadership team are Sen. Charleta Tavares (shar-LET'-uh tuh-VAHR'-ess) of Columbus as assistant minority leader, and Sen. Lou Gentile (jen-TILE) of Steubenville as assistant minority whip.

The full Senate must act on the transition.