Bellefontaine Examiner

Switch to desktop

Cardinal court


Triad High School has announced its homecoming court for “Silence Cedarville and Conquer the Indians” festivities that take place this week. Pictured are, from the left, seated: junior attendant Nicole Simonelli, senior queen candidates Lindsay Vanhoose, Hannah Tukesbrey-Kilbride and Jacki Vermillion, sophomore attendant Halle Bostick and freshman attendant Ali Dixon; and standing: junior Gavin Head, senior king candidates Evan Bottom and Rickey Bruce, sophomore attendant Trent McIntyre and freshman attendant Thomas O’Neal. Not pictured is senior king candidate Tre McIntyre. The homecoming ceremony and king/queen crowning are Friday night prior to kickoff. The homecoming dance for Triad students in grades 9-12 is from 8 to 11 p.m. Saturday in the high school auditeria. Admission is $10.

Last Updated on Thursday, 10 October 2013

Hits: 505

WL-S students visit apple orchard, make applesauce

IMG 8514

West Liberty-Salem Schools first-graders visited the Louden Apple Orchard in Westville during September.
Phil Louden, owner of the orchard, explained the process of picking, washing, sorting and storing apples as he led a tour of the apple barn. The students saw where the apple cider is made and the bee hives that are essential for pollinating the trees in the spring.
Participants also toured the orchard and picked a bag of apples. Back in the classrooms, the students made homemade applesauce. (PHOTO SUBMITTED)

Last Updated on Wednesday, 09 October 2013

Hits: 755



Bellefontaine High School homecoming is observed tonight and the annual parade was Thursday evening through downtown Bellefontaine. ABOVE: queen candidates Olivia Martin, front, and Erin Levine make their way through downtown during Thursday evening’s parade. FRONT PAGE PHOTO: Members of the BHS marching band lead off the parade. (EXAMINER PHOTOS | REUBEN MEES)

Last Updated on Friday, 04 October 2013

Hits: 1548



Jenny Tynan and her wheaten terriers Kelly, front, and Kiara relax on the grass behind the St. Patrick Catholic Church parish  house as Father Patrick Sheridan and Deacon Harold Dipple offer a prayer for the blessing of pets on Thursday evening. (EXAMINER PHOTO | REUBEN MEES)

Last Updated on Friday, 04 October 2013

Hits: 934

Chieftain royalty


Bellefontaine High School has announced its homecoming court for festivities that take place this week. Queen candidates are, from the left, seated, Hollie Stepp, Erin Levine and Olivia Martin; and standing, are junior attendant Georgia Cooper, freshman attendant Shelby Raney and sophomore attendant Evelyn Belcher. A homecoming parade is planned for 6:30 p.m. Thursday, beginning in the PNC Bank parking lot, and then continuing south on Main Street, east on Washington Avenue and then south on Harding Street to the high school. A pep rally at Dodd Stadium immediately follows the parade, where the homecoming court will be introduced and BHS cheerleaders and marching band will lead the crowd. In case of inclement weather, Thursday’s activities will be moved to the high school gym. The Chieftains take on Tippecanoe for Friday evening’s homecoming football game, and then the homecoming dance is from 8 to 11 p.m. Saturday at the school, with the theme “Shine Bright Like a Diamond.” (photo | SHANNON MAIER)

Last Updated on Wednesday, 02 October 2013

Hits: 2636

BHS Class of 1948


The Bellefontaine High School graduating Class of 1948 observed its 65th anniversary Sept. 27 with a tour of the Holland Theatre and lunch at the Myeerah Inn in Zanesfield. Attending were, from the left, seated: Rosena Van Voorhis Wesser, Joanne Strayer Dunkel, Dan Ashcraft, Peggy Hull and Helen Peters Watkins; and standing: Kenneth Hostetler, Virgil Fryling, James Collins, Dick Lyman, class president Bob Watkins, Glen Miller, Kenneth Fultz, Jeanne Watkins Bennett, Robert Nicholl, Jim Hurst, Dick Vance and Gene Marine.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 02 October 2013

Hits: 1120

Students create Constitution Day posters


Students in Valarie Rapp’s eighth-grade American History class at Indian Lake Middle School created posters in recognition of U.S. Constitution Day Sept. 17.

Each student submitted their poster entries to a national contest.

In other school activities, students in Christina Wisener’s sixth-grade math and science class applied the steps of the scientific method to discover how many pennies a wet paper towel could hold.




Last Updated on Tuesday, 01 October 2013

Hits: 950

Indian Lake Schools reports on waiver day activities

DSC 0007

Indian Lake Schools staff members completed waiver day activities Monday, which included a presentation by local medical personnel on the newly formed Logan County Concussion Program.

Logan County Health Commissioner Dr. Boyd Hoddinott and Kristy Wisner, PT, DPT, from the Marty Rutan  Physical Rehabilitation Center provided information regarding the dangers of concussions. They identified what teachers can look for in helping students identify the symptoms of a concussion.

Staff members also spent the day learning more about the teacher evaluation system, which included discussion on student learning outcomes, a tool that helps teachers document student growth in the classroom. (PHOTOS SUBMITTED)

DSC 0003

Last Updated on Tuesday, 01 October 2013

Hits: 747