Laker Zone Awards presented to ILES pupils

Educators say the third quarter is the hardest for students to stay focused in school, but Indian Lake Elementary students are still “in the zone” with their good behavior, attitude and academics that were recognized during a recent Laker Zone Awards assembly.

ILE Zone 1


Third-grade teachers Pam Scarpella and Lisa Reese, along with guidance counselor Suzy Mallory, also introduced some additions to the Laker Zone, including Laker Zone cards and the Laker Zone Wall of Fame. 

Teachers can hand out new Laker Zone cards to students who are in the zone. Laker Zone T-shirt winners and card holders from throughout the year are also featured on the new Laker Zone Wall of Fame.

A total of 115 students and several staff members also were recognized for achieving perfect attendance in the third quarter. Fourth-graders Matthew Middlestetter and kindergartner Natalie Harford were the lucky winners of the perfect attendance bikes.

Third Quarter Laker Zone Winners include: kindergartners Tucker Downing, Natalie Harford, Alex Tussing, Kaylee Frost, Claire Tidwell, Audree Titus and Willow McDermit; first-graders Dredyn Cooley, Ava Polhamus, Emerson Snapp, Anara Shroyer, Myah Everheart, Trae Johnson and Chloe Borgerding; second-graders Tesla Ferguson, Jenna Cline, Josh Frost, Holden Wallace, Garrett Gurka, Kaleb Motter and Lucy Buscher; third-graders Lilly Rose, Alexis Ranes, Draden Stevenson, Carson Clary, Joslyn Cummins, Cooper Hall and Emily Sanabria; fourth-graders Cameron Freyhof, Cambria Tuttle, Crosley Lacher, Elijah Wolf, Meya Karbowiak, Jenna Carnes, Caiden Estep and Harly Kinninger; and bus students Laithem Snyder, Makenzie Motter, Kenzie Lett and Trevor McIntire.

The Laker Zone is a long-time positive behavior program that encourages students to help others, resist bullying and be hard workers in the classroom. 

ILE Zone 2

ILE Zone 3