Bellefontaine Examiner

Switch to desktop

Delta Kappa Gamma members attend state convention


Surena Neer, Peggy B. Wirick, and Karen Roettger, members of the Beta Theta Chapter of Alpha Delta State of the Delta Kappa Gamma Society International, recently attended the 2013 State Convention in Columbus.

The convention marked the 75th anniversary of the state organization. The first chapter in Ohio was established in Cleveland in 1938. Currently, there are 99 chapters across the state with nearly 5,000 members.

Dr. Lace Marie Brogden and Charlotte Shrider were the featured speakers during the two-day convention, which also included 28 workshops, an info fair, art show, the Agora, a chapter photo display, initiation of members and the installation of new state officers.

The final project to commemorate the 75th anniversary of Alpha Delta State culminated with the collection of books that will be donated to six major children’s hospitals in Ohio.

Delta Kappa Gamma is an honor society comprised of key women educators who demonstrate their enthusiasm, initiative, and dedication to the educational profession worldwide. The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International boasts a membership of 90,000 women in 18 countries.

For the local Beta Theta chapter, Ms. Roettger is a past president, Ms. Neer is the current president, and Ms. Wirick is vice president.

Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google BookmarksSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn