Career tech prep touted

Afternoon thunderstorms that forced the relocation of Wednesday’s convocation ceremony of the Ohio Hi-Point Career Center did not dampen the excitement of more than 200 seniors who earned certificates of completion in their various fields of study.


ABOVE: Shelby McMann reads an original poem Wednesday during Ohio Hi-Point’s convocation ceremony in the Bellefontaine High School gymnasium. FRONT PAGE: Carrissa Magnuson takes a selfie photograph prior to concluding her speech Wednesday at Ohio Hi-Point’s convocation ceremony in the Bellefontaine High School gymnasium. (EXAMINER PHOTOS | NATE SMITH)

Students planning to further their education were recognized along with those planning to directly enter the workforce.

A list of Hi-Point's 2014 graduates is below

Five students planning to enlist in the armed services also received a standing ovation from the packed Bellefontaine High School gymnasium, which housed the ceremony after the threat of afternoon rains prompted school officials to move the convocation indoors.

“Paths converged for all of us from 14 different school districts,” said Nicholas Davis, an electronics technology student from West Liberty-Salem, who addressed his classmates. “We all started on different roads but they’ve all led to Ohio Hi-Point.

“It was challenging, but we did it.”

Students from two local schools were recognized as Best of Class. They are:

Blake Johnston, and Dustin Wooten, health technology students from Indian Lake and West Liberty-Salem, respectively.

Wednesday’s student-led ceremony also included poem readings from Shelby McMann, a cosmetology student from Indian Lake High School, and Jennifer Propst, a medical care services student from Marysville High School.

Carrissa Magnuson offered some advice for her peers before setting out to capture the moment on her mobile device.

“Move quick, and don’t worry,” said the health technology student from West Liberty-Salem.

“Live life to the fullest, take advantage of your opportunities and never forget where you came from.”

She concluded her speech by snapping a selfie photograph on her cellular phone, similar to pictures taken by celebrities and actors that have recently circulated popular culture.

Superintendent Jeff Price encouraged the students to stay their respective courses, and reminded them of the payoff.

“The end will always be better than the beginning,” Mr. Price said, adding that “endurance and discipline,” will go a long way toward successful professional and personal lives for each student.

The superintendent implored the pupils to make good decisions, before concluding with a reminder.

“You’ll always represent Ohio Hi-Point,” he said. “Please represent us well.”

The following Ohio Hi-Point Career Center students earned certificates of completion in their listed programs of study:

Auto collision technology — Zachary Keith Brandyberry, Braeden S. Broadstone, Ethan DJ Downing, Larry Eugene Goubeaux Jr., Cody Charles McGranahan.

Animal management technology — Skyler Thomas Adkins, Josie LouAnn Anderson, Rachel Boyer, Kayle Danyelle Burchnell, Brooke Ann Houser, Taylor Ellizabeth Jordan, Chelsea Ann Kerns, Samantha Danielle Metz, Kassie Caresse Reisinger, Tylor Lee Reisinger, Kayla Ann Shoemaker, Destanie R. Walborn.

Auto services — Andrew M. Baker, Philip Blake, Cody Ray Caudill, Travis Logan Cook, Nicholas James Harvey, Josh M. Holland, Joshua Dale Hower.

Auto technology — Johnathan Matthew Beaman, Dakota James Caster, Daniel Johnathan Cox, Tyler Joe Dolan, Conrad James Hamren, Samantha Jo Joseph, Justin Levi Lawson, Eric Plaugher, Cody Allen Weber.

Business administration — Cory Leah Ann Good, Michael Leroy Rushing, Katie Alizabeth Schulze.

Building maintenance — Collin Raye Christian Downing, Chaz Michael Sammet.

Plumbing and pipefitting — Samuel Emmett Rostofer.

Carpentry — Samuel Cooper Clark, Brandon Scott Hatfield, Evan John Hoffman, Kayden Lee Inman, Indica Jenee Johnson, John Raymond Johnson, Christian Kindle, Colton William Lee Krieger, Scott Triplett.

Cosmetology — Danisha Sheree Artis, Danielle Elizabeth Billings, McKenzie Bostick, Angela Desiree Burton, Jade Ryan Cahill, Brittany Dickinson, Kaylin Nicole Frederick, Kelsey Marie Knapp, Sabrina Marie Lane,

Abbegail Kyra McCall, Shelby Lynne-Taylor McMann, Carley Alexandra Morgan, Shelby Lorraine Morrison, Paige Nichole Pool, Eleanor Elizabeth Skinner, Lydia Nicole Snider, LaRissa Thompson, Olivia Jo Thompson, Tuff Chi An Varian, Mackenzie Loralie Williams.

Culinary — Elizabeth Ann Burkett, Alyssa Leeann Gilliam, James Steven Hildreth, Amanda Marie Minger, Marissa Leanndra Ritter, Haylee Marie Wright.

Culinary-master chef — Jordyn Elaine Dye, Mikayla Lian Goings, Ronieka Karlene Lynch, Kendrick Ryan Satterfield, Karmalita Nicole Magalene Schoby, Shannon Denise Skaggs, Mathew Gene Urban, Dylan Michael Woodyard.

Diesel technology — Totiayana Nikole Bailey, John Wayne Dunlevy, Weston Michael Easter, Dylin Paul Miller, Dwight Keith Peeples, Alan Michael Predmore-Masters, Jacob Kyle Sampson, James Nelson Wilson.

Early childhood education — Brittany Nicole Cox, Ashley Davidson, Shawna Marie Devine, Tiffany Renee DeWitt, Sarah E. Eleyet, Tabitha Kaylynn George, Abigail Nora Goodwin, Caitlyn Nicole Hunter, Kaylynn Renee Lowe, Cheyenne Renea Morris, Jayde Ann Moyler, Stephanie Marie Preston, Joshua David Garrett Rinbolt, Courtney Ellen-Dawn Triplett, Kristyn Cheyenne Yelton.

Electricity — Shane T. Bowman, Leon Day, Gabriel McClure, Zachary Ryan Ohman-Stokes, Anthony Bain Richardson, Blake Logan Roby, Mathew Paul Spillman, Richard M. Stapleton, Tyler Nathan Todd.

Electronics engineering technology — Matthias Abke, Benjamin Daniel Anderson, Kristi Marie Black, Dustin James Blanton, Clifford Emerson Bruce, Dustin James Blanton, Nicholas Erick Davis, Evan Richard Downing, Connor George, Dalton James Griffin, Desmond Tyree Jackson, Nicholas Clark Moughler, Dixon Takashi Shapiro, Joshua David Wayne Smith, Ryan Dakota Smith, Phillip Geoffrey White.

Health technology — Michelle Lee Beckman, Blaize Star Billenstein, Lindsey Ann Bradley, David Michael Conner, Monica Lynn Cox, Kiersten Ciara Daum, Cheyenne Lee Edwards, Sarah Katheryn Field, Blake Chandler Johnston, Samantha Cheyenne Pauline Kensler, Carrissa Suzanne Magnuson, Rachel Renee Reedy, Shawna Carlene Sacks, Samantha Rebekka Dawn Shafer, Megan Elane Shields, Troy Matthew Slavin, Hollie Moriah Stepp, Crystal Marie Summers, Cortni Amber Taylor, Savannah Elizabeth Thomas, Julia Christine Tulanko, Samantha Nicole VanVoorhis, Colton Christopher Wedge, Megan Lynn Wilcox, Eleisea Ann Woodford, Jessica Lynn Woodruff, Dustin Alan Wooten.

Medical care services — Meagene Marie Sky Birt, Destiny Ruthanne Brown, Hannah Rae Cornelison, Harley Jean Dickinson, Jessie Duncan, Haley Marie Fox, Kelli Elaine Kendall, Morganne Jennifer Landon, Bayley Mae Miller, Nyteah Delyzha Mundy, Ashley Michelle Penhorwood, Jennifer Rose Propst, Shauna Renee Seagraves, Adam Edward Zirkle.

Information technology careers — Jacob Sebastian Carmichael, Trestin Lee Copenhaver, Benjamin Logan Cummins, Jordan Lee Erevia, Jonathan Gitano Fazio, Andre Keith Felty, Amelia Tamar Johnson, Ryan Christopher King, Cameron Blake Minter, Cory Oyer, Darius Gregory Tall, Dylan Thomas Taylor, Taylor Storm Wick.

Masonry — Rusty Burkhammer, Alva Stormy Stegal.

Printing and graphic arts — Cheyenne Renee Storm Boday, Ashtyn Nichole Defibaugh, Hannah Sue, Michelle Epps, Caitlyn Nicol Good, Dezerae’ Nichole Kerns, Zachary Alexander Prater, Chet Reams, Kayla Laura Snyder, James Richard VanHoose, Sarah Tabitha Lee Wheeler.

Professional turf and landscaping — Richard A. Bothel, Kaleb Gullett, Austin James Neeley, Aaron B. Osborn, Hunter Lawson Pride, Daniel P. Trout, Tayler Ussher-Gonzalez, Phillip Anthony Warwick.