Bellefontaine Examiner

Switch to desktop

HAPPY BIRTHDAY

121-cupcake

The Bellefontaine Examiner marks its 121st anniversary today and the end of its year-long monthly observance of its 120th anniversary.

The final installment of the final decade (plus two years) of the special showcase section printed on durable stock paper is included in today’s edition and features a look at local, regional, national and international news as presented on the pages of the Examiner those years.

The paper was established by brothers Edwin “E.O.” and Horace “H.K.” Hubbard, and printed its first edition Dec. 14, 1891. Thomas “T.E.” Hubbard joined the Examiner staff as a cub reporter in 1930 and gained full ownership of the newspaper in 1970. He died in 2001. His widow, Mrs. Thomas Hubbard is the current publisher and son, Jon Hubbard is general manager. Grandson T.J. Hubbard serves as assistant general manager.

The Examiner first began printing in the second story of a building at the corner of Main Street and Columbus Avenue and moved by 1911 to its first real office at the corner of Opera Street and Court Avenue, where it remained until building and moving into its current location at 127 E. Chillicothe Ave.

Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google BookmarksSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn