Bellefontaine Examiner

Switch to desktop

Norris named 2012 Kiwanian of the Year



Rural Rushsylvania resident Bruce Norris was named the 2012 Kiwanian of the Year during a recent meeting of the Bellefontaine Kiwanis Club, during which officers also were installed.


Kiwanis-Officers 1017

The Kiwanis Club of Bellefontaine installed officers for the 2012-13 year, including, from the left, seated, president Dave Woods and president-elect Vicki Fay, and standing, immediate past president Dustin Wickersham, secretary Dr. Chris Gamble, Lt. Gov. Ohio Div. 3 Bill McCormick and treasurer Linda Hanson. Not pictured is Rebecca Marker-Smith, assistant secretary. (PHOTO | BELLEFONTAINE KIWANIS CLUB)

Past President Dustin Wickersham said Mr. Norris was chosen for the award for a number of reasons.

“Bruce is extremely reliable. Anytime you wanted to get a project done, Bruce always said, ‘Yes.’

“Bruce is like a clock — he’s always running. He helped collect money and badges at weekly meetings and collected tickets at the club’s annual pancake breakfast.”

Mr. Norris, also a past president of the club, has been a member of the Bellefontaine Kiwanis for 17 years.

Ohio Kiwanis Division 3 Lt. Gov. Bill McCormick also was in attendance to install officers for 2012-13, including president Dave Woods, president-elect Vicki Fay, immediate past president Mr. Wickersham, secretary Dr. Chris Gamble, treasurer Linda Hanson and assistant secretary Rebecca Marker-Smith.

Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google BookmarksSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn