Shady Bowl Speedway crowns six

Memorial Day weekend treated racing fans to an exciting night of racing at Shady Bowl Speedway on Saturday as six winners were crowned in six divisions.


ABOVE: Daniel Wirrick was the dwarf car winner. FRONT PAGE PHOTO: Josh Smith was the winner of the late model main. (PHOTOS | SHADY BOWL)

The late model main saw Quincy driver Josh Smith hold off Brad Koons to take the checkered flag. John Stroble, Jacob Muncy and Dylan Troyer rounded out the top five. Nathan Herron won the heat and Austin Troyer was the dash winner.

Joe Pequignot dominated the modifieds as he led every lap. Rob Yelton was second, with Brad Williams, Buddy Townsend and fast qualifier Shane Shirk rounding out the top five. Williams was the dash winner, with Chris Parker the heat winner.

The tuner feature saw Terry Eaton dominate on his way to first-place finish. Chris Crozier was second, with Larry Kemp third, Eddie Kemp fourth and Jake Moody fifth. Holli Eaton was the dash winner, with Les Rhodes winning the heat.

In Pro-4 action, Justin Meed held off the rest of the field to take the win. Steve Clarkson settled for the runner-up spot, David Gerstner was third, Matt Thompson was fourth and Paul Hazlett was fifth. Clarkson carried the checkered flag in the heat race.

The street stocks saw Dave Sage hold off Rodney Roush to take the feature win. Ray Muncy was third, Robert Roush was fourth and Roger Thornhill came in fifth. Purtee won the dash and Sage and Sullenberger grabbed heat wins.

Shady Bowl returns on Saturday, with late models, modifieds, tuners, compacts and dwarfs set to race. Gates open at 4 p.m. and racing begins at 7 p.m.