Bellefontaine Examiner

Switch to desktop


Wisconsin-Ohio State Preview Capsule

No. 23 Wisconsin (3-1, 1-0 Big Ten) at No. 4 Ohio State (4-0, 0-0), 8 p.m. (ABC)

Line: Ohio State by 7.

Series Record: Ohio State leads, 55-18-5.


Wisconsin has won the last three Big Ten championships and Ohio State coach Urban Meyer has told his players that the Badgers are the "kings" of the conference until someone knocks them off. This game will have a huge impact on whether they retain that title. The Buckeyes have won 16.


Wisconsin RBs Melvin Gordon and James White against Ohio State's defense. The Badgers are third in the nation in rushing, averaging 350 yards a game. They will, early and often, test Ohio State's interior defense which includes six first-year starters among the front seven. If the Badgers are successful, it'll put extra pressure on the Buckeyes — with either Braxton Miller or Kenny Guiton at QB — to have a big night at Ohio Stadium.


Wisconsin: LB Chris Borland and DE Pat Muldoon are Ohio natives coming home and leaders of a defense that ranks second in the Big Ten but has put up Big numbers against mostly sketchy opposition.

Ohio State: RBs Jordan Hall, Carlos Hyde and Rod Smith give the Buckeyes a powerful running game, too. Meyer is noncommittal on whether he'll go with Miller (coming back from a sprained knee ligament) or Guiton. Miller is a better runner; Guiton has a better touch passing.


The last time Wisconsin beat Ohio State, 31-18 in 2010, the Buckeyes were ranked No. 1. ... The Badgers haven't won at the Horseshoe since 2004. ... First-year Wisconsin coach Gary Andersen was a valued assistant under Meyer on the Utah team that went 12-0 in 2004. ... The Badgers are 12-0 when White rushes for at least 100 yards. ... Miller, who is listed as a game-time decision but was tentatively listed as No. 1 on the depth chart, needs just 13 yards to become the all-time leading rusher among QBs at Ohio State. ... Wisconsin has lost four of its last seven night games, while Ohio State, which is 36-20 after dark, has won its last four since.

Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google BookmarksSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn